In the back row are, from left, Aaron Postlethwaite, Yakabuski, McIntyre and Ernie Rideough. In the front, from left, are Sharon Rideough, Connor Bennett, Jeris Chalmers-Wein and Sydney Robinson. (Photos by Patricia Leboeuf, Petawawa Post)

Ontario150 Grant for Heritage Village

By Patricia Leboeuf

Posted on Thursday, July 27, 2017

Ontario150 Community Capital Program provided the Petawawa Heritage Village with a grant worth $15,000. It will be put towards renovations at the Leder Haus. This homestead needed a new roof and construction began on July 10. The project will cost a total of $20,000 with the Village providing a quarter of the necessary money. The new cedar roof will not only be better suited to the Village’s time period, but will also help protect the artifacts within. On July 8, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke John Yakabuski presented President of the Petawawa Heritage Society Ann McIntyre with a special plaque, signifying this prestigious grant. Yakabuski credits McIntyre’s determination and passion for the Village receiving the Ontario Trillium Foundation grant.